top of page

If You Liked That Marvel Movie, Read This Book

This is me combining two of my most favorite things in the world: Marvel and reading. I'm honestly shocked it's taken me this long to rave about Marvel, honestly…

  • Got a specific movie in mind? Jump to it!

  • read Iron Widow if you liked Iron Man…

  • Sassy protagonist. Fancy flying suit. Romance: to die for. (Don't pay attention to the italices it means nothing. Or does it?)

Related Post: Check out my review of Iron Widow !
  • read Shatter Me if you liked The Incredible Hulk…

  • Honestly, I harbor a strong dislike for Shatter Me, but when I was going through my brain bookshelf for book recs for Hulk, if it wasn't the first thing that popped into my mind, then I don't know what is.

    • Maybe my brain just said "Oh, you don't like Hulk, you don't like Shatter Me, therefore…"

  • read Vicious if you liked Iron Man 2…

  • Honestly, Iron Man 2 gets a bad rap, like it's actually really not all bad (not nearly Thor: The Dark World level of boredom.

  • Face value is pretty much it for this one, the two superhero and supervillain.

    • Except, you can't really call Eli a hero in Vicious, lots of dimensions in that book, and it's amazing either way.

  • But, still the two have one thing in common and that's a bone to pick between the main "hero" and main "villain".

  • read Sky in the Deep if you liked Thor…

  • I really couldn't think of anything for Thor, so I really went "Hammer, axe, same difference". (Can you deny that the movie poster and cover look similar?)

  • read Clockwork Angel if you liked Iron Man 3…

  • Honestly, I think the Iron Man movies are all underrated. Everyone loves the first, no one loves the second, and everyone is impartial the third. But like, is it really bad? My humble opinion quite likes the third one…

  • Okay, book rec related. I'm thinking more along the lines of Clockwork Princess for this actually because Pepper kidnapping v.s. Tessa kidnapping/leaving (or whatever she did [kinda forget oops]), but I figured I'd put Clockwork Angel in because it's first.

  • read Legendborn if you liked Thor: The Dark World…

  • I could not think of anything for this Thor movie, really truly the only Marvel movie I actually dislike.

  • But, I figured. Weird red magic on the cover of Legendborn, weird red magic in the movie.

  • read City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, Part II) if you liked Captain America: The Winter Solider…

  • This one's a stretch (most of the books in this whole thing are), but as we know Bucky was controlled by Hydra. We could go so far as to say possessed. And who else was possessed? Jace Herondale from City of Lost Souls.

  • read Aurora Rising if you liked Guardians of the Galaxy…

  • Real obvious here. A gang of psycho idiots (who we love with our whole hearts, of course) fighting in space. A gang of psycho idiots, also fighting in space.

  • read Scythe if you liked Avengers: Age of Ultron…

  • These aren't similar other than the fact that we have this "entity" of sorts who happens to be super smart. In Scythe. we have the cloud (who is not evil whatsoever). In Avengers: Age of Ultron, we have Ultron (who is as evil as can be).

  • read Gearberakers if you liked Ant-Man…

  • I'll be honest and admit I completely forgot my thought process for this one, but it was kind of along the lines of Scott having to redeem himself in the eyes of his ex-wife and (kinda) his daughter (since he was in jail, ya know) and then in Gearbreakers, Sona is kind of trying to redeem herself in memory of her parents who were (SPOILER) killed by the mechas.

  • Also there's cool armor/suits…

Related Post: Check out my review of Gearbreakers!
  • read Renegades if you liked Captain America: Civil War…

  • I was going to put Renegades with The Avengers, because, superheroes really generically I figured, but then my friend was like "Are you stupid the Renegades and Anarchists are fighting blah blah civil war of sorts…" So, here we are, with the art that is Renegades and the magnificence that is Captain America: Civil War.

  • read Stalking Jack the Ripper if you liked Doctor Strange…

  • Okay, hear me out on this one. Basically all of the recs so far have been fantasy and I know Doctor Strange feels more like fantasy than most Marvel movies. But, we've got Stephen Strange who's a doctor (neurosurgeon, I think?) and then we've got Audrey Rose out favorite murder detective. Both are body/medical related, so I figured I'd drop a rec that felt different, ya hear.

  • Another, more magic related recommendation would be Serpent & Dove, I've always thought the magic in the two gave similar vibes.

  • read Lightning Thief if you liked Spider-Man: Homecoming…

  • I'm aware how random these recs are getting but…I kinda was thinking along the lines of if we got more moments of Percy is school, he would definitely be running out all the time to fight monsters. Just like Peter does…It makes sense if you think about it, also both are top tier therefore…

  • read The Poppy War if you liked Thor: Ragnarok…

  • I thought Thor: Ragnarok would be the easiest book ever, but lo and behold I couldn't think of a single book that had a ragnarok occur? And I wasn't going to be extra basic and just put Magnus Chase, so here's The Poppy War. Just about the best book ever written with all the war details you could ever ask for. Full of betrayal and murder and magic, and I will stop being a promoter now, but you should read it…

  • read The Cruel Prince if you liked Black Panther…

  • Had to consult with some friends for a few, and Black Panther happened to be one of those. Could've gone the easy route and just put Children of Blood and Bone, but The Cruel Prince works pretty well in the sense of Wakanda, a hidden land no human knows of, and Faerie, a hidden land no human knows of.

  • read The Lost Hero if you liked Avengers: Infinity War…

  • Not The Lost Hero specifically, but The Heroes of Olympus as a whole, really. There's Gaea, ultimate evil tyrant who's trying to rule/decimate? the whole world. And Thanos, literally the same thing but multiple worlds because he's extra.

  • read An Ember in the Ashes if you liked Ant-Man and the Wasp…

  • Absolutely no reason behind this. I went, "I can't think of anything, Ant-Man and the Wasp has a red movie posters and An Ember in the Ashes has the reddest book cover I can think of."

  • read Red Queen if you liked Captain Marvel…

  • Red Queen is probably the first book a lot of people would think of when trying to remember super iconic (albeit annoying) female MCs, so here we are. There's also Throne of Glass, just dropping that there but I doubt anyone who is anyone hasn't read that.

  • read Furyborn if you liked Avengers: Endgame…

  • Couldn't even tell you why I put Furyborn down when I literally hate that series, but I can't explain my brain half the time. I kind of just…put it.

  • read Warcross if you liked Spider-Man: Far From Home…

  • Another one where you just have to hear me out…Spider-Man: FFH has all those holographic projection things that Peter has to fight, and we've got VR type games in Warcross. Different, but similar, you can't deny.

  • read The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo if you liked Black Widow…

  • Our favorite widow, Miss Natasha Romanoff. Different type of widow, but no less beloved (that sounds fancy but y'all better love Nat more Nat >>> thank you), Evelyn Hugo.

bottom of page